XAML Syntax Support

Topics: Developer Forum, Project Management Forum, User Forum
Apr 16, 2007 at 5:06 AM
Hi

I am a WPF Programmer, I would like to have XAML example code (just LIKE C#,VB,VC++) in my HELP File generated by Sandcastle Help File Builder. I am using Latest Build both Sandcastle & Sandcastle Help File Builder. I have created XAML example Code in C# SOURCE FILE like what we do specify for C#/VB syntax

eg: ///<example>
/// <code>
/// XAML CODE goes here...............
/// </code>
/// <example>

But I am not able to generate XAML example code in HELP FILE. Can any one give me suggestion or comment on this issue

THANKS & REGARDS

SHAJI P.D.
Coordinator
Apr 16, 2007 at 5:34 AM
The code colorizer doesn't support it. Since I don't know XAML or what might constitute it's syntax, it'll be up to someone else to update the colorizer's syntax file. There's a reference in the help file to the article that describes the syntax file's XML structure. If you can update it to support it, I'll add the necessary changes in a future release.

Eric
Apr 16, 2007 at 10:25 AM
Hi Eric,

My assumption is that we have to add following in <generators> sections of Sandcastle\Presentation\vs2005\Configuration\sandcastle.config file

<generators>
<generator type="Microsoft.Ddue.Tools.XamlUsageSyntaxGenerator" assembly="%DXROOT\ProductionTools\SyntaxComponents.dll">
<xamlConfiguration>

<!-- Classes whose subclasses (and members) do NOT get XAML syntax even though they otherwise satisfy the XAML-ness algorithm -->
<xamlExcludedAncestors>
<class api="T:System.EventArgs"/>
<class api="T:System.Exception"/>
<class api="T:System.Security.Permissions.Permission"/>
</xamlExcludedAncestors>

<!-- List the assemblies for which XamlGenerator generates XAML syntax or boilerplate.
The XAML syntax blocks for members of all other assemblies get a generic boilerplate, e.g. "Not applicable." -->
<xamlAssemblies>
<assembly name="PresentationFramework"/>
<assembly name="PresentationCore" />