Sandcastle build is taking hours to complete

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
Jul 28, 2008 at 3:59 PM
Edited Jul 28, 2008 at 4:05 PM
Hi,

I am new to using Sandcastle and have followed the instructions in  http://ozgrant.com/2008/02/19/building-sandcastle-documentation-with-team-build/#comment-16374.  The issue is it is taking 45 hours to get one chm file created.  I used the Sandcastle Help Builder GUI and created a template (shown below) .  There are 3 dlls I have added to the ComponentConfigurations section which I believe will make it faster as it will cache the info - is that correct?

Can anyone point me in the right direction about option settings that will get the time down?  There are only about 16 dlls being built from our code but it is pulling in Microsoft EnterpriseLibrary dlls and a couple of sql dlls as well.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

thanks
Kim.

<project schemaVersion="1.6.0.7">
    <componentConfigurations>
        <component id="Cached Framework Comments Index Data" enabled="True" configuration="&lt;component id=&quot;Cached Framework Comments Index Data&quot; type=&quot;SandcastleBuilder.Components.CachedCopyFromIndexComponent&quot; assembly=&quot;{@SHFBFolder}SandcastleBuilder.Components.dll&quot;&gt;&#xD;&#xA;&lt;index name=&quot;comments&quot; value=&quot;/doc/members/member&quot; key=&quot;@name&quot; cache=&quot;100&quot;&gt;&#xD;&#xA;{@CachedFrameworkCommentList}&#xD;&#xA;{@CommentFileList}&#xD;&#xA;            &lt;/index&gt;&#xD;&#xA;&lt;copy name=&quot;comments&quot; source=&quot;*&quot; target=&quot;/document/comments&quot; /&gt;&#xD;&#xA;&lt;/component&gt;" />