How to add topic for attached dependency property?

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
Jan 23, 2012 at 6:35 PM

I have to use a lot of attached dependency properties in my project. But manually create the xml-file documentation and publish it as a documentation source in the SHFB is very difficult. Is there another way? For example, adding a special topic...

Coordinator
Jan 23, 2012 at 8:48 PM

Are you referring to the auto-generated topics under the Attached Events and Attached Properties categories in the TOC where the syntax section say "See GetXXX, SetXXX"?  I think these may be another cases where I need to extend the Show Missing component to auto-document the member and perhaps have it refer back to the related public field or perhaps have the inherited documentation tool pull in the documentation from the public field for use on the auto-generated property.

I'm rather new to WPF so up until a few months ago I didn't know what I was looking at with regard to the XAML related features of Sandcastle.  Now that I do, I plan on adding proper support for them.  There's also a build component that apparently adds XAML syntax sections to the appropriate topics so I'll be adding support for that too.  I'll see what I can do for the next release of SHFB.

Eric

Coordinator
Jan 25, 2012 at 3:32 AM

To follow up on this, I've update the GenerateInheritedDocs tool to auto-document the generated attached property and attached event elements with the comments from the field so that they at least get default comments rather than a "missing comments" message if they are not documented using a standalone XML comments file.  Since they are auto-generated, there really isn't anywhere to attach documentation to them in the code other than on the backing field.  If you want the comments on the auto-generated property/event to differ from those on the field, you really do need to manage them with a standalone XML comments file.

Eric

Jan 25, 2012 at 6:18 PM