Adding code snippets

Topics: User Forum
Mar 24, 2008 at 4:04 PM
Hi, I have been using Sandcastle for a couple of months and am pleased with it. I now need to regenerate the API documentation, with relevant "code snippets" provided as an example to the person using the API, and was wondering what would be the best way to do this? Thanks in advance!
Mar 24, 2008 at 7:17 PM
The <code> tag is used to format code snippets in the API documentation. One or more <code> tags are enclosed within an <example> tag. You can place text between the code samples. For example:

This does something interesting
/// Code goes here
Another example that does something else
<code lang="vbnet">
''' This one is a VB.NET example

When using SHFB, it includes a Code Block Component that colorizes the code. If the lang attribute is omitted from the <code> tag, it will assume C#. If you want to use VB.NET as the default or you only ever include VB.NET examples, you can use the ComponentConfigurations project property to add a reference to the Code Block Component and override its default so that it uses VB.NET by default instead.

There are several other attributes that allow you to do such things as add a title, enable outlining and line numbering, and to import code from actual source code files so that you can build the code to make sure its valid and you don't have to maintain it there and in the XML comments. See the Code Block Component topic under the Custom Build Components section in the help file for full details.

Mar 24, 2008 at 7:38 PM