Sample using C/C++ project ?

Topics: User Forum
Jun 23, 2010 at 10:08 PM
Edited Jun 24, 2010 at 12:46 AM
I'm a doc writer, and in a previous version of our software I was able to build a managed code guide simply by importing the Visual Studio solution file into the Sandcastle Help File Builder and tweaking the formatting style. I have just been asked if I can take a directory filled with .cpp files that are built into a DLL using Visual Studio, and use Sandcastle to document each of these functions. I've gotten far enough to add <summary> and <remarks> tags to some of the routines, and set C/C++ output properties to generate XML documentation. When I build the project, I end up with .sbr files for each of the .cpp files. I also have MYLIBRARY.dll and MYLIBRARY.xml. The .xml file includes the few summary and remarks that I added to the source. I've added MYLIBRARY.dll and MYLIBRARY.xml as document source to the Sandcastle Help File Builder. However, when I do Documentation > Build Project, I get the following error: SHFB: Error BE0033: No APIs found to document. See error topic in help file for details. This initially throws me off because I see text in my .xml file, but can't figure out why it isn't being converted to a final .chm file. When I look up the error in the help file, it says that I should include a project or solution file. However, I'm using Visual Studio 2008. When I add the project file, I get an error that C++ project files prior to Visual Studio 2010 are not currently supported. Is there a step-by-step set of instructions that will help me to document this C++ code that is currently being built using Visual Studio 2008? I can probably install Visual Studio 2010 and build a project file from there, but then I'll be out of synch with the version of Studio being used by the engineers.
Coordinator
Jun 24, 2010 at 2:08 AM