Documentation Links for System Types

Topics: User Forum
Jul 11, 2007 at 11:24 PM
I'm new to Sandcastle Help File Builder. Using Sandcastle Help File Builder version, I have successfully created my first documentation file. I have noticed one problem. The documentation links for system types are not shown in my documentation file. Instead of being shown as hypertext, references to system types are just shown in bold.

I've left the SHFB project's FrameworkVersion property, which specifies the .NET Framework version to which the documentation links for system types should point., to the default, 2.0.50727. That looks right, as I have Visual Studio 2005 and .Net 2.
Jul 12, 2007 at 1:39 AM
One of two things can cause it that I know of. The first is that you've set the SdkLinkType project property to none. It should be set to MSDN to link to the online content. The other is that this a VB.NET project. The VB.NET compiler doesn't always write the cref tags out as fully qualified like the C# compiler does. As such you must do it manually including the prefix (T: for type, M: for method, etc for example <see cref="T:System.String"/>).

Jul 12, 2007 at 9:20 PM
The assembly that is to be documented is written in C#, not VB.NET. SdkLinkType was set to MSDN, not None. HelpFileFormat was initially set to HtmlHelp1x. Setting HelpFileFormat to HtmlHelp2x made no difference when SdkLinkType was set to MSDN.

I have now also tried setting SdkLinkType to Index, in conjunction with setting HelpFileFormat to HtmlHelp2x. In this case, the references to system types are shown as hypertext. However, when a link to a system type is clicked, the following error message is shown instead of the page that the link is attempting to reference:

Sorry, no topics were found for the selected link.
Keywords = "T:System.String"
IndexMoniker =
Source URL =

(I was viewing the Help 2 file with H2 Viewer. I don't know if that would make any difference.)
Jul 13, 2007 at 1:53 AM